"We are ambassadors who represent Christ." – 2 Corinthians 5:20



The Rev. Javier Garcia Ocampo, Priest in Charge

ocampoj@ascensionmd.org | 301.948.0122 ext. 16

Rev. Javier Ocampo

Rev. Javier Ocampo

Javier Garcia Ocampo is from Mexico City. He began his ministry at Ascension in the Summer of 2014 after serving in the Diocese of Mexico City as a Vicar of the Church of La Santa Cruz for ten years. He grew up in a little town in Morelos State, Mexico, called Jojutla and moved to Mexico City to study at the Saint Andrew’s Anglican Seminary and the Theological Community of Mexico where he received a degree in Divinity.

As a cradle Episcopalian, Javier has been working for the Church in Mexico for many years. When he was at the Seminary, with a group of seminarians they planted a new church called “Cristo Rey”. He started his ministry working with the youth group and children. He was part of the OPAJUV (Young Adult Diocesan Committee). He was working also in Cursillo and Happening.

He was ordained as a Deacon in September of 2001 and as a Priest in October of 2002.

He is fascinated by languages, having studied English and Sign Language (in Spanish) and studying different cultures. For fun he enjoys bike riding, physical fitness, reading books, travel, going to the movies and listening to music.


Office Staff

Parish Administrator Mrs. Lin Keene
301.948.0122 ext. 10
Media Specialist Mrs. Eleni Hailu
301.948.0122 ext. 14

Lay Leadership

Parish Officers and Vestry

Senior Warden: Betsy Hasegawa
Junior Warden: Janet King
Clerk to the Vestry: Sari Stoddard
Treasurer: Avin Lalmansingh

2019 2020 2021
Rose Buck Zadinga Ogada John Pruessner
Gordon Donnelly Meredith Horan Luis Pedron
Susan McLaughlin Berencie Rodriguez Robert Waters

Mission Area Leaders

Christian Formation for Children Megan Didavi
Christian Formation for Youth Angie Hight-Walker
Christian Formation for Adults Peg Ruppel
Facilities Ted Bedell
Finance Avin Lalmansingh
Mission Paul Boynton
Pastoral Care Javier Ocampo & Nan Hildebrand
Personnel Jean Cohn
Worship Curt Lindsay & Gary McLaughlin
Youth Group Angie Hight-Walker

Delegates to Diocesan Convention

Mardia Dennis, Gary McLaughlin, Sue Snay
Alternate: Fredy Diaz